The Bendigo Advertiser Trophy - 1933 Bendigo & South Bendigo Rifle Club Easter Meeting - won by MCC Rifle Club

Object Type
Trophies and awards/Trophy/Decorative/Cup/Stand
Trophies and awards/Trophy/Decorative/Cup/Lid
Trophies and awards/Trophy/Decorative/Cup
Date Used
See full details

Object Detail

Brief Description
Silver trophy, large cup, two handles, lid and base; perpetual trophy, with engraved inscription: "BENDIGO & SOUTH BENDIGO / RIFLE CLUBS / EASTER MEETING / "BENDIGO ADVERTISER" TROPHY. / CHAMPION TEAMS. / WON BY / MELBOURNE CRICKET CLUB / RIFLE CLUB / 1933". Ornately designed handles each side with scrolls at top; knopped stem and spreading foot with floral chased decoration. Handles and inside of cup are gilt. Makers mark under base featuring the flag trademark above: "WALKER & HALL / SHEFFIELD / ENGLAND / 1735 / 12", and a small "97" beneath. Silver chased lid surmounted by a silver metal figurine of a rifleman; gilt inner. Large ebonised wood base with 9 silver metal engraved shields affixed to the lower foot of the base, engraved with the years of competition from 1923 to 1932 (excluding 1931); the name of the winning clubs for each year; and the scores achieved by individual participants and the total scores. The winning teams for each year (excluding 1931) are as follows: 1923: Bendigo NO. 1; 1924: Post and Telegraph C.; 1925: Fitzroy A; 1926: Donald; 1927: Caulfield; 1928: M.C.C.; 1929: M.C.C.; 1930: Collingwood; 1932: Orbost. There is a small hole screwed through the middle of the top of the base. Black leather has been affixed to the base.
base + cup + lid: H: 590 W: 330 D: 245mm (H: 23 1/4 W: 13 D: 9 5/8")
Date Used
On display
Registration No




Be the first to comment.