Framed AFL Premiership Players' Club commemorative Australia Post stamps, 2002

Object Type
Philatelics and currency/Philatelic material/Stamp/Stamp sheet
Date Used
See full details

Object Detail

Brief Description
Sheet of 20 stamps encased in a plastic sleeve, mounted onto a black backboard, surrounded by a cream mount, and framed with a wood varnished frame. Each stamp on the sheet features the image ocean water and a beach accompanied by the stars of the 'Southern Cross' constellation. Along the left edge is the text, "AUSTRALIA" and in the top right corner is the text, "45c". To the right of this image on each stamp is the head of an Australian footballer with their team colours below. Above each head is the dates they were part of a Premiership team, and below is their name. Players featured on this release are (from left to right, and top to bottom); Ron Baggott, Bill 'Polly' Perkins, Maurie Hearn, Allan Greenshields, Alan Dale, Russell 'Hooker' Renfrey, Doug Reynolds, John Beckwith, Barry 'Hooker' Harrison, John Sharrock, Barry Breen, Michael Green, Alex Jesaulenko, Frank Gumbleton, Leigh Matthews, Alle de Wolde, Daniher, Michael Gayfer, Brett Ratten, John Blakey. To the left and right of the stamp sheet is the imprinted signature of each featured player, and above the sheet is the text, "THE PREMIERSHIP PLAYERS' CLUB INC. / Third Annual Issue 2002". In the bottom left hand cover is the logo of the Premiership Players' Club (a flag motif) in gold, and printed above this in red is "026" indicating this is the 26th printed sheet in the limited issue. Attached to the mount board beneath the stamp sheet is a metal plaque reading, "THE PREMIERSHIP PLAYERS' CLUB INC. / THIRD PERSONALISED STAMP ISSUE / 27TH MARCH 2002". On the reverse is a hanging string.
H: 470 W: 530 D: 15mm (H: 18 1/2 W: 20 7/8 D: 9/16")
Associated Event
Date Used
On display
Registration No
Credit Line
Kindly donated by the AFL Premiership Players' Club Inc.



Related Objects


Be the first to comment.