Framed AFL Premiership Players' Club commemorative Australia Post stamps, 2008

Object Type
Philatelics and currency/Philatelic material/Stamp/Stamp sheet
Date Used
See full details

Object Detail

Brief Description
Sheet of 20 stamps encased in a plastic sleeve, mounted onto a black backboard, surrounded by a cream mount, and framed with a wood varnished frame. Each stamp on the sheet features the image of a kangaroo on a background of the Australian flag. Along the bottom edge is the text, "AUSTALIA / 50c". To the right of this image on each stamp is the head of an Australian footballer with their team colours below. Above each head is the dates they were part of a Premiership team, and below is their name. Players featured on this release are (from left to right, and top to bottom); George Hassell, Max Spittle, Wally May, Terry Fulton, Lerrel Sharp, Jim Gallagher, Ralph Lane, Harry Sullivan, John McArthur, John Watts, Kevin Cowboy Neale, Bryan Quirk, Rex Hunt, Geoff Southby, Peter Chisnall, Robert Dipierdemenico, Emmett Dunne, Peter Sumich, Denis Pagan, and Tom Harley. To the left and right of the stamp sheet is the imprinted signature of each featured player, and above the sheet is the text, "THE PREMIERSHIP PLAYERS' CLUB INC. / Ninth Annual Issue 2008". In the bottom left hand cover is the logo of the Premiership Players' Club (a flag motif) in gold. In the bottom right hand corner is printed "052/500" indicating this is the 52nd printed sheet in the limited issue. Attached to the mount board beneath the stamp sheet is a metal plaque reading, "THE PREMIERSHIP PLAYERS' CLUB INC. / NINTH PERSONALISED STAMP ISSUE / 26th JUNE ,2008 [sic.]". On the reverse is a hanging string.
H: 470 W: 530 D: 15mm (H: 18 1/2 W: 20 7/8 D: 9/16")
Associated Event
Date Used
On display
Registration No
Credit Line
Kindly donated by the AFL Premiership Players' Club Inc.


Subject Auto Tags


Related Objects


Be the first to comment.