Framed AFL Premiership Players' Club commemorative Australia Post stamps, 2000

Object Type
Philatelics and currency/Philatelic material/Stamp/Stamp sheet
Date Used
See full details

Object Detail

Brief Description
Sheet of 20 stamps encased in a plastic sleeve, mounted onto a black backboard, surrounded by a cream mount, and framed with a wood varnished frame. Each stamp on the sheet features a 'holographic' panel showing the dates, "1999" and "2000" on a yellow, orange and blue background of fireworks including the text, "AUSTALIA / 45c". To the right of this image on each stamp is the head of an Australian footballer with their team colours below. Above each head is the dates they were part of a Premiership team, and below is their name. Players featured on this release are (from left to right, and top to bottom); Milton Lamb, Bob Pratt, Percy Beames, Dick Reynolds, Clen Denning, Thorold Merrett, Jack Collins, Stuart Spencer, Bill Serong, Barry Davis, Ken Fraser, Doug Wade, Alan Morrow, Robert Walls, John Nicholls, Keith Greig, David Cloke, Michael Tuck, Simon Madden, and Steve Kernahan. to the left and right of the stamp sheet is the imprinted signature of each featured player, and above the sheet is the text, "THE PREMIERSHIP PLAYERS' CLUB INC.". In the bottom left hand cover is the logo of the Premiership Players' Club (a flag motif) in gold, and printed above this in red is "039" indicating this is the 39th printed sheet in the limited issue. Attached to the mount board beneath the stamp sheet is a metal plaque reading, "THE PREMIERSHIP PLAYERS' CLUB INC. / FIRST PERSONALISED STAMP ISSUE / 7TH MARCH 2000". On the reverse is a hanging string. The framing points are also visible.
H: 470 W: 530 D: 15mm (H: 18 1/2 W: 20 7/8 D: 9/16")
Associated Event
Date Used
On display
Registration No
Credit Line
Kindly donated by the AFL Premiership Players' Club Inc.



Related Objects


Be the first to comment.